Se-Young Yun

Associate Professor
Kim Jaechul Graduate School of AI
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Seoul Campus Building 9
Phone: +82 42 350 1619
Email: yunseyoung[at]
Nationality: South Korean


B.S. Electrical Engineering, KAIST, Feb. 2006 -Summa Cum Laude
Ph.D. Electrical Engineering (advisor : Prof. Dong-Ho Cho), KAIST, Feb. 2012
Thesis: Traffic and User Density Based Decentralized Power Control and Economical Analysis in Femtocell Networks

Awards and Scholarships

Outstanding Reviewer Award, NIPS, 2016
Best Paper Award, ACM MobiHoc, 2013
BK21 Scholarship, Korea, 2012
Summa Cum Laude, KAIST, 2006
Academic Scholarship, given to those of high GPA, KAIST, from spring 2003 to Autumn 2005

Professional Experience

Assistant Professor in KAIST, South Korea
from July. 2017 to Present
Post-doctoral researcher in Los Alamos National Lab., Los Alamos, NM, USA
from April. 2016 to July. 2017 (Host: Dr. Michael Chertkov)
Visiting researcher in Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
from June. 2015 to Mar. 2016 (Host: Dr. Milan Vojnovic)
Post-doctoral researcher in Microsoft Research - Inria Joint Center, France
from Apr. 2014 to Apr. 2015 (Host : Prof. Marc Lelarge)
Post-doctoral researcher in Dept. Automatic Control, KTH, Sweden
from Feb. 2013 to Mar. 2014 (Host : Prof. Alexandre Proutiere)
Post-doctoral researcher in Dept. Electrical Engineering, KAIST, Korea
from Feb. 2012 to Feb. 2013 (Host : Prof. Yung Yi)
Teaching assitant in Dept. Electrical Engineering, KAIST, Korea
from Mar. 2008 to Feb. 2010


Reviewer of Journal: IEEE/ACM Trans. on Networking, IEEE Trans. on Wireless Communications, IEEE Trans. on Mobile Computing, Elsevier Computer Communications, IEEE Trans. on Intelligent Transportation Systems, Queueing Systems, IEEE Trans. on Information Theory, Bernoulli Journal, The Annals of Statistics, Statistical Science
Conference Organizer: ACM Sigmetrics 2019 registration chair, IEEE BigComp 2020 tutorial chair TPC of Conference: IEEE ICCC 2015 WCS Symposium, ACM Sigmetrics (2016,2020), PAKDD 2017, WiOpt 2018, AAAI (2019,2020), IJCAI (2019,2020), UAI 2019
Reviewer of Conference: NIPS (2016, 2017,2018,2019), ICLR (2018,2019,2020), ICML (2018,2019)